Tuesday, November 10, 2009

MACONDO FALL NEWS 2009: 2 items

Emmy Pérez wins 2009 Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation Award

The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral (ACDM) Foundation is pleased to announce the winner of the 2009 ACDM Award: poet Emmy Pérez (McAllen, TX).  This year’s award totals, $8,912.

Emmy Pérez is the author of a poetry collection, Solstice (Swan Scythe Press, 2003). She holds degrees from Columbia University and the University of Southern California.  Her work has appeared in Prairie Schooner, North American Review, Notre Dame Review, New York Quarterly, Borderlands: Texas Poetry Review, Indiana Review, Crab Orchard Review, and the anthologies The Wind Shifts: New Latino Poetry and The Weight of Addition: an anthology of Texas Poetry. She is a contributing editor for The Writer's Chronicle, Latino Poetry Review, and Texas Books in Review.  Currently, she is an Assistant Professor and teaches in the MFA program at the University of Texas-Pan American in the Rio Grande Valley.

The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation was created in 2000 to honor the memory of Sandra Cisneros' father, an upholsterer. "My father lived his life as an example of generosity and honest labor," Cisneros has written; "Even as he warned us to save our centavitos, he was always giving away his own.  A meticulous craftsman, he would sooner rip the seams of a cushion apart and do it over than put his name on an item that wasn't up to his high standards.  I especially wanted to honor his memory by an award showcasing writers who are equally proud of their own craft."

The Alfredo Cisneros Del Moral Foundation invites a panel of nominators to recommend writers from across the writing disciplines who were born in Texas or who currently reside in Texas. Recipients are selected for exhibiting both exceptional talent and a profound commitment to their chosen form of expression.

The 2009 judges were writers Andrei Codrescu, Fae Myenne Ng and John O. Espinoza. Past judges have been journalists, memoirists, anthropologists, poets, historians, essayists, and novelists--including Edwidge Danticat, Linda Hogan, Dr. Antonia Castaneda, John Phillip Santos, Dagoberto Gilb, Dr. Arturo Madrid, Dr. Norma Elia Cantú, Dr. Carmen Tafolla, and Rubén Martínez.

[The Foundation does not accept individual solicitations, nominations, or funding requests.]

Linda Rodriguez wins Midwest Voices and Visions Award

 "I just won the Midwest Voices and Visions Award--a writing residency at Ragdale and $4,000--with work that you all helped me with at Macondo. I thank you all from the heart for all the time and effort you put into reading, critiquing, and making the true effort to see my intention for the work. I took everything you said to heart and reworked and wrote new stuff and sent it off. So many, many thanks. I hope all of you are having the same kind of success with the incredible work you presented at the workshop. Stay in touch and stay wonderful. I can hardly wait for next year to see all of you again.

Besos y abrazos,
Linda Rodriguez"

1 comment:

Suzanne said...

What wonderful news!!!